YALSA Board of Directors Meeting ALA Midwinter Meeting, Boston January 15-19, 2010

Topic: Slate for 2010 Election

Background: The Nominating Committee has finalized the slate for the 2010

election. The slate is provided below. Voting begins March 16th and ends April 23rd. The results will be announced April 30th. The Committee is hosting a Candidates' Forum at Midwinter. According to the bylaws, at Midwinter the Committee will present to the Board the names of at least two candidates for Vice-President/President-Elect, four candidates for Board directors-at-large, two candidates for Fiscal Officer, two candidates for Secretary, two candidates for each unexpired vacated position of Director-at-large, at least six candidates for the Edwards Committee, at least eight candidates for the Printz Committee and at least eight candidates for the Nonfiction Award

Committee.

Action Required: Consent

President - need 2

Sarajo Wentling Sarah Flowers

Board -- need 4 for 3 year term; need 4 for 1 year term

Shannon Peterson
Chris Shoemaker
Priscille Dando
Alexandra Tyle Annen
Jerene Battisti (1 yr)
Gail Tobin (1 yr)
Angela Carstensen (1 yr)
Jack Martin (1 yr)

Printz -- need 8

Joy Millam
Todd Krueger
Patricia J. Campbell
Erin Helmrich
Elizabeth Saxton
Drue Wagner-Mees

Additional Resources:

Ian Rosenior Gail Zachariah

Edwards -- need 6

Susan Fichtelberg Kate Pickett Amy Chow Jonathan Hunt Walter Mayes Emily Dagg

Nonfiction -- need 8

Mary Burkey
Jennifer Hubert Swan
Megan Fink
Diane Colson
Michael Cart
Mary Anne Nichols
Elizabeth A. Burns
Eva Volin

YALSA Board of Directors – Midwinter 2010 Topic: Slate for 2010 Election Item #3

"Choose Wisely: How Nominating Committees Ca