

ALA Annual Virtual Business Meeting

June 14, 2017

WELCOME

Current Board:

Rene Tanner, Coordinator Jodi Shaw, Coordinator-Elect Madeleine Charney, Immediate Past Coordinator Rebekkah Smith Aldrich, Member-at-Large Mary Beth Lock, Member-at-Large Lindsay Marlow, Treasurer Kate Hutchens, Secretary

Incoming Leaders: Amy Brunvand, Coordinator-Elect Susan Conlon, Member-at-Large

SustainRT Committees

Governance

GOVERNANCE

Continue work on the ALA Resolution on the Importance of Sustainable Libraries

- Submission of the ALA Sustainability Round Table (SustainRT) Statement on the importance of the inclusion of "sustainability" within the Context of Future Accreditation;
- Opening the door for a featured web series in American Libraries, "the voice of the profession and the flagship magazine of the American Library Association"
- Formation of an ALA Special Task Force on Sustainability, slated to kick off later this year.

MEMBERSHIP/ OUTREACH COMMITTEE

SustainRT column in American Libraries Magazine Online <u>https://americanlibrariesmagazine.org/tag/sustainability-in-</u> <u>libraries/</u>

Travel Award Promotional Video SustainRT Blog

Student Membership

MEMBERSHIP/ OUTREACH COMMITTEE (CONT.)

Upcoming at ALA Annual 2017 Hosting a table at ODLOS Diversity Fair Bookmarks for Bill McKibben Quarterly Online Education 30-minute sessions Archive of sessions - <u>http://www.ala.org/sustainrt/events-0</u> Program Highlights:

Transformational Resilience - Bob Doppelt, Author Book-to-Action Program - Sally Thomas, Hayward Public Energy Savings for Libraries - Mike Walker, EPA Travel Offset Project - Library Center for the Future of Libraries - Miguel Figueroa, ALA Libraries & Sacredness of Community - Rachael Shea

PROGRAMMING COMMITTEE

Meet virtually Developed ideas for programs

ALL, W474b

Bill McKibben: Imagining a World that Works In Time to Prevent a World that Saturday, June 24, 2017, 1-2:30 pm McCormick Place, S102.

2017 ALA Diversity & Outreach Fair at Annual Conference. Saturday, June 24th from 3-5pm in the Special Events area of the Exhibits Hall.

SustainRT and SRRT Social Event. Saturday, June 24, 2017, 5-7 pm at McCormick Place, W194b

Taking the LEED: Sustainable Building Projects @ Your Library. Sunday, June 25, 2017, 8:30-10 am at McCormick Place, W185bc

Next Gen Library Planning: Strategic Library Planning for Sustainability & Resilience in Community. Sunday, June 25, 2017, 10:30-11:30 am at McCormick Place, W185bc

SustainRT General Membership Meeting. Sunday, June 25, 2017, 3-4 pm at McCormick Place, W474b

OTHER BOARD UPDATES

Post-Inauguration Message to the Library Community Liaison work with Office of Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services

1. Run for Office: Look for call in winter of 2018

Incoming Coordinator (3-year term) Secretary (2-year term) Treasurer (2-year term) Member at Large (2-year term)

2. Join a Committee (2-year terms)

Governance Membership Outreach Online Education Programming

3. Attend an educational webinar Announcements: http://www.ala.org/sustainrt/events-0

4. Add to the Environmental Scan

Add a project to this public list of books, articles, websites, blogs, social groups, and projects that fall under the umbrella of Sustainable Libraries. <u>http://goo.gl/forms/JMP8ua7GT6</u>

Questions to Beth Filar Williams Beth.Filar-Williams@oregonstate.edu

5. Become a member. Add SustainRT to your ALA membership for \$10 any time. Free student memberships coming in the fall.

ALA SustainRT List <u>http://lists.ala.org/sympa/info/sustainrt-l</u> ALA Connect <u>http://connect.ala.org/node/194336</u> SustainRT Webpage <u>http://www.ala.org/sustainrt/</u> Facebook

Jodi Shaw,

WELCOME TO NEW COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Madeleine Charney, Chair Membership Committee Jamie Conklin, Member Membership Committee Margaret Woodruff, Member Outreach Committee Meg King-Sloan, Member Programming Committee Meredith Powers, Member Programming Committee Rachel Lynn Silverstein, Member Online Education Committee Eric D. Tans, Member Online Education Committee Rebekkah Smith Aldrich, Chair Governance Committee Uta Hussong-Christian, Member Governance Committee David Selden, Member Governance Committee

QUESTIONS



THANKS FOR ATTENDING

