IFRT Executive Committee Meeting Monday, February 8, 2021

10:00 - 11:00am AKST; 11:00am - 12:00pm PST; 12:00-1:00pm MST; 1:00-2:00pm CST; 2:00-3:00pm EST

MINUTES

Members Present:

Kristin Anderson, Stephanie Barnaby, Jeremy Brett, Deborah Caldwell-Stone, Peter Coyl, Ellie Diaz, Rhonda Evans, Michael Furlong, Martin Garnar, Johanna Genett, Sarah Hartman-Caverly, Sam Helmick, Wanda Huffaker, Ray James, Charles Kratz, Rebecca Moorman, Steve Norman, Kristin Pekoll, Cyndi Robinson, Shane Roopnarine, Crystal Schimpf, Jennifer Steele, Amanda Vazquez, Ma'Lis Wendt.

I. CALL TO ORDER/WELCOME:

Huffaker called the meeting to order at 1:01pm CST. A quorum was established. After introductions we resumed the rest of the agenda from 1/24 at the Midwinter Meeting.e

I()#8.72 T2 Tf 0 0 1 5244.0 g0 (0.024Tc)(1) TJET (0.0000092 0 62 2 reW1BT/F1



 Proposed FY22 Budget - General comments from Norman: this is a balanced budget. Revenue is on track, and we are not anticipating a dip in members next year. We budgeted for an in-person award ceremony at <u>LibLearnX</u> in January or ALA Annual in 2022. We also budgeted for the Oboler Award to be annual instead of every other year.

James mentioned an effort within the Social Justice and Intellectual Freedom Task Force of the Freedom To Read Foundation to collaborate on the Oboler Award. Garnar clarified that the group had discussed starting a new award, and Garnar suggested joint sponsorship of this existing award as an alternative. James will follow up with Kratz as details emerge.

Hartman-Caverly inquired about the availability of funds for presenter honoraria for upcoming webinars. Pekoll explained that a request needs to come to the Executive Committee, and if it is approved, the requestor will work with Pekoll to pay the speaker(s). We have room in the budget since we have not held any of the in-person events we budgeted for this year.

Helmick moved that we accept the Proposed FY22 Budget. Garnar seconded. The motion passed, with no opposition and no abstentions.

- D. Director at Large: Kristin Anderson
 - i. Nothing to report; involved in committee work.
- E. Director at Large: Stephanie Barnaby
 - i. Nothing to report.
- F. Director at Large: Jeremy Brett
 - i. Nothing to report.
- G. Secretary: Rebecca Moorman
 - i. Nothing to report; added a report from Garnar to this agenda since he hadn't been expected at the 1/24 meeting.





VIII. COMMITTEE REPORTS

- A. Bylaws Committee: Stephanie Barnaby (for Trish Hull)
 - i. Committee met Friday 2/5 to discuss bylaws changes. Will send promotional materials to Amanda for distribution.
- B. Coalition Building Committee: Shane Roopnarine
 - i. New deadline announced for Hodges Award: February 26. The committee has already received additional submissions since extending the deadline.
- C. Education Special Advisory Committee: Sarah Hartman-Caverly
 - i. Wanted to share some information about

, the social justice and intellectual freedom webinar and break-out listening sessions on Fri. 2/26 from 1:00 - 2:30pm CST. Here are some key links; please help us get the word out! <u>Connect event</u> and <u>Zoom registration link</u>. More than



- i. Waiting for the bylaws change to be approved. Can't update the website until the membership approves the award's frequency change.
- H. Program Committee: Jennifer Steele
 - i. Nothing to report.
- I. Publications and Communications Committee: Amanda Vazquez
 - i. Newsletter was just sent out last week.
 - ii. IFRTChat continues each month on Twitter.
 - iii. We will be starting a new campaign along the lines of highlighting lesser discussed items of intellectual freedom interest, starting with Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion; Privacy; Privacy RFID; Net Neutrality; and Loyalty Oaths, as found in ALA's Policy Manual.
 - iv. Continue to send any items that need to be publicized to Vazquez through Connect or email amandav@dubcolib.org.
- IX. ANY OTHER BUSINESS TO COME BEFORE THE ROUND TABLE

A. Upcoming events: Frosty Windows

