May 07, 2018

The Honorable John McCain Chairman Senate Committee on Armed Services 228 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Jack Reed Ranking Member Senate Committee on Armed Services 228 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Mac Thornberry Chairman House Armed Services Committee 2208 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Adam Smith Ranking Member House Armed Services Committee 2264 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairmen and Ranking Members:

On behalf of the undersigned groups, we urge you to oppose the inclusion of the Department of) proposal to alter the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) through the FY 2019 ¹ would undermine

FOIA

Congress shou authority to withhold information from public examination without meaningful input and approval from the committees with jurisdiction over FOIA. FOIA-related legislation needs the careful consideration of those committees, including public hearings; such care is necessary to ensure that any change to the law promotes transparency and public accountability while allowing the government to withhold information that truly requires protection. A massive authorization bill, which has in previous years been marked up in secret in the Senate, is not the proper vehicle to amend FOIA as it applies to the largest executive branch agency.

This expansion is not only procedurally problematic, but also unnecessary. As stated above, FOIA exemption one, which already addresses concerns,

Electronic Frontier Foundation Government Accountability Project Government Information Watch Human Rights First In the Public Interest Interfaith Network on Drone Warfare Liberty Coalition National Security Archive National Security Counselors National Taxpayers Union Project On Government Oversight Public Citizen Public Employees for Environmental Responsibility (PEER) Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press Society of Professional Journalists Washington Office on Latin America Win Without War

cc:

Senator Chuck Grassley, Chairman, Senate Judiciary Committee Senator Dianne Feinstein, Ranking Member, Senate Judiciary Committee Representative Trey Gowdy, Chairman, House Oversight and Government Reform Committee Representative Elijah Cummings, Ranking Member, House Oversight and Government Reform Committee